Barn Club

Barn. Club. 'A joyful reminder of why nature, being outside, being together and creating beauty is so good for the soul.' —Kate Humble, broadcaster and author of A Year of Living Simply 'For the reader who wishes to resist the gathering ...

Barn Club

“In today’s ego-techno-centred world, Robert Somerville’s . . . Barn Club approach is a way forward that utilizes local traditions, local materials, and local hands to create a built environment that is more harmonious with the natural world and of course more beautiful.”—Jack A. Sobon, architect, timber framer, and author of Hand Hewn “Somerville knows more about wooden barn construction than almost anyone alive.”—The Telegraph Natural history meets traditional hand craft in this celebration of the elm tree and community spirit. When renowned craftsman Robert Somerville moved to Hertfordshire in southern England, he discovered an unexpected landscape rich with wildlife and elm trees. Nestled within London’s commuter belt, this wooded farmland inspired Somerville, a lifelong woodworker, to revive the ancient tradition of hand-raising barns. Barn Club follows the building of Carley Barn over the course of one year. Volunteers from all walks of life joined Barn Club, inspired to learn this ancient skill of building elm barns by hand, at its own quiet pace and in the company of others, while using timber from the local woods. The tale of the elm tree in its landscape is central to Barn Club. Its natural history, historic importance, and remarkable survival make for a fascinating story. This is a tale of forgotten trees, a local landscape, and an ancient craft. This book includes sixteen pages of color photographs, and black and white line drawings of techniques and traditional timber frame barns feature throughout. Perfect for fans of Norwegian Wood and The Hidden Life of Trees.

More Books:

Barn Club
Language: en
Pages: 288
Authors: Robert Somerville
Categories: Crafts & Hobbies
Type: BOOK - Published: 2021-03-17 - Publisher: Chelsea Green Publishing

“In today’s ego-techno-centred world, Robert Somerville’s . . . Barn Club approach is a way forward that utilizes local traditions, local materials, and local hands to create a built environment that is more harmonious with the natural world and of course more beautiful.”—Jack A. Sobon, architect, timber framer, and author
Dayton
Language: en
Pages: 127
Authors: Curt Dalton
Categories: History
Type: BOOK - Published: 2006 - Publisher: Arcadia Publishing

The rise and near destruction of Dayton in the early 20th century is chronicled in this visual postcard history. The postcards showcase some of the city's unique commercial buildings, hotels, churches, and residences, many now long gone due to urban renewal and highway construction in the 1960s and 1970s. Landmarks
The Casino and Society in Britain
Language: en
Pages: 226
Authors: Seamus Murphy
Categories: History
Type: BOOK - Published: 2020-11-24 - Publisher: Routledge

This book is a study of the British casino industry and how it has been shaped by criminality, prohibition, regulation and liberalization since the beginning of the First World War. The reader will gain a detailed knowledge of the history, culture, identity and participants within the British casino industry, which
The Roadhouse Comes to Britain
Language: en
Pages: 192
Authors: David W. Gutzke, Michael John Law
Categories: History
Type: BOOK - Published: 2017-04-20 - Publisher: Bloomsbury Publishing

This is the first book to examine the cultural phenomenon of the roadhouse in mid 20th-century Britain and its impact on British leisure. The term 'roadhouse' was used in varied ways in the 1930s, from small roadside tearooms to enormous establishments on the outskirts of major cities. These roadhouses were
Crusaders, Gangsters, and Whiskey
Language: en
Pages: 312
Authors: Patrick O’Daniel
Categories: History
Type: BOOK - Published: 2018-11-26 - Publisher: Univ. Press of Mississippi

Prohibition, with all its crime, corruption, and cultural upheaval, ran its course after thirteen years in most of the rest of the country—but not in Memphis, where it lasted thirty years. Patrick O’Daniel takes a fresh look at those responsible for the rise and fall of Prohibition, its effect on