The Fire Horse Girl

IN CHINESE ASTROLOGY, the Year of the Fire Horse is a bad year for Horses. All of their worst traits — their tempers, their stubbornness, their selfishness — burn with increased strength. Girls should never be born in the year of the ...

The Fire Horse Girl

A fiery and romantic adventure, perfect for fans of Grace Lin, Kristen Cashore, or Lisa See! Jade Moon is a Fire Horse -- the worst sign in the Chinese zodiac for girls, said to make them stubborn, willful, and far too imaginative. But while her family despairs of marrying her off, she has a passionate heart and powerful dreams, and wants only to find a way to make them come true. Then a young man named Sterling Promise offers Jade Moon and her father a chance to go to America. While Sterling Promise's smooth manners couldn't be more different from her impulsive nature, Jade Moon falls in love with him on the long voyage. But America in 1923 doesn't want many Chinese immigrants, and when they are detained at Angel Island, the "Ellis Island of the West," she discovers a betrayal that destroys all her dreams. To get into America, much less survive there, Jade Moon will have to use all her stubbornness and will to break a new path... one so brave and dangerous, only a Fire Horse girl could imagine it.

More Books:

Fire Horse
Language: en
Pages: 160
Authors: Linda Chapman
Categories: Juvenile Fiction
Type: BOOK - Published: 2022-04-14 - Publisher: Hachette UK

Harness the power of the elements with the Moonlight Riders! A brand-new series from bestselling author Linda Chapman, author of MY SECRET UNICORN and UNICORN ACADEMY. Could you be a True Rider? When Amara started riding at the Moonlight Stables Riding School she never expected that the ponies there could
The Fire Horse Girl
Language: en
Pages: 336
Authors: Kay Honeyman
Categories: Juvenile Fiction
Type: BOOK - Published: 2013-01-01 - Publisher: Scholastic Inc.

A fiery and romantic adventure, perfect for fans of Grace Lin, Kristen Cashore, or Lisa See! Jade Moon is a Fire Horse -- the worst sign in the Chinese zodiac for girls, said to make them stubborn, willful, and far too imaginative. But while her family despairs of marrying her
The Fire Horse: Children's Poems by Vladimir Mayakovsky, Osip Mandelstam and Daniil Kharms
Language: en
Pages: 48
Authors: Eugene Ostashevsky
Categories: Juvenile Fiction
Type: BOOK - Published: 2017-03-14 - Publisher: New York Review of Books

Whimsical and revolutionary poems and art by some of Russia's foremost avant-garde writers and illustrators A boy wants a toy horse big enough to ride, but where can his father find it? Not in the stores, which means it’s got to be built from scratch. How? With the help of
D. H. Lawrence
Language: en
Pages: 275
Authors: Greiff, Louis K
Categories: English fiction
Type: BOOK - Published: 2001 - Publisher: SIU Press

Books about D. H. Lawrence
Tales from Sacred Wind
Language: en
Pages: 456
Authors: Cratis D. Williams
Categories: Social Science
Type: BOOK - Published: 2003-03-11 - Publisher: McFarland

Prior to his death in 1985, Cratis Williams was a leading scholar of and spokesperson for Appalachian life and literature and a pioneer of the Appalachian studies movement. Williams was born in a log cabin on Caines Creek, Lawrence County, Kentucky, in 1911. To use his own terms, he was