Looking at the Moon

'You must buy something or it will look very mean. What about that brooch shaped like a treble clef? I saw you looking at it.' 'Yes, that's quite pretty, but I feel rather nervous of shouting out in front of all these people.

Looking at the Moon

In wartime Britain, can Abbie find the happiness she craves? Looking at the Moon is a powerful saga from Margaret Thornton that tells the story of a young woman blossoming during the dark days of war... and discovering love and happiness is within her grasp. Perfect for fans of Dilly Court and Katie Flynn. 'A fine romance' - Belfast Telegraph Having grown up with a critical, domineering mother and an ineffectual detached father, Abbie Winters, at nineteen years of age, lacks friends, confidence and self-worth. That is, until she meets Doreen, a vivacious girl who works in the local grocer's. Doreen introduces Abbie to the joys of dancing at the Palace ballroom, and it's here that she meets Peter Horsfall, a sensitive, kind young airman, who asks her for a date. Eva Winters is determined to prevent Abbie's friendship developing, but although she unwittingly succeeds in destroying Abbie's relationship with Peter, she cannot keep Doreen away. In 1942, together with Doreen, Abbie escapes by joining the Land Army where, with the freedom and the fresh air, she blossoms into a most desirable young woman. Fate seems to be smiling on Abbie when she meets Peter again, by chance, in Norfolk - and they fall passionately in love. Can they dare believe that, this time, their happiness will survive Eva Winters' violent disapproval - and the risks and horrors of war? What readers are saying about Looking at the Moon: 'All I would have wanted and expected' 'Well written and a very good story - enjoyed this book very much' 'Five stars' Don't miss the heart-stopping sequel: All You Need is Love.

More Books:

Ruby Rogers: Who Are You Looking At?
Language: en
Pages: 112
Authors: Sue Limb
Categories: Juvenile Fiction
Type: BOOK - Published: 2012-11-08 - Publisher: Bloomsbury Publishing

A new boy at school causes great excitement among Ruby's friends, especially Yasmin. She won't shut up about him. As if Ruby hasn't got better things to think about! A lesson on careers has got her wondering about her future. If being a Robin Hood gangsta doesn't work out, what
What Are You Looking For?
Language: en
Pages: 208
Authors: J. Krishnamurti
Categories: Body, Mind & Spirit
Type: BOOK - Published: 2021-04-08 - Publisher: Random House

FOUR MILLION COPY BESTSELLING AUTHOR 'One of the greatest thinkers of the age' The Dalai Lama What is love? Who am I without my relationships? What is the relationship between myself and society? One of the world's greatest philosophical teachers, Krishnamurti, offers his inspiring wisdom on a core feature of
The Impact of the Persian Gulf War and the Decline of the Soviet Union on how the United States Does Its Defense Business
Language: en
Pages: 974
Authors: United States, United States. Congress. House. Committee on Armed Services
Categories: Government publications
Type: BOOK - Published: 1991 - Publisher:

Books about The Impact of the Persian Gulf War and the Decline of the Soviet Union on how the United States Does Its Defense Business
Language Links - Elementary to Pre-Intermediate
Language: en
Pages: 267
Authors: Adrian Doff, Christopher Jones
Categories: Foreign Language Study
Type: BOOK - Published: 2005-03-24 - Publisher: Ernst Klett Sprachen

face2face is a six level general English course for adults and young adults. It goes from Starter level through to Advanced.
The Christian treasury (and missionary review).
Language: en
Pages:
Authors: Adrian Doff, Christopher Jones
Categories: Foreign Language Study
Type: BOOK - Published: 1856 - Publisher:

Books about The Christian treasury (and missionary review).